Directory

Faculty

Christine Richardson, Ph.D.
Interim Department Chair
Professor

Christine Richardson, Ph.D.
DNA recombination and repair, chromosomal rearrangements, & hematopoietic malignancies, leukemia, ovarian cancerecotoxicology in mammals.
Professor

Woodward 246
704.687.5465
C.Richardson@uncc.edu

Read More
Matthew W. Parrow, Ph.D.
Academic Vice Chair
Associate Professor

Matthew W. Parrow, Ph.D.
Eukaryotic microbiology, harmful algal blooms; applications of algae and fungi in biotechnology

Woodward 386C
mwparrow@uncc.edu

Read More
Ian Marriott, Ph.D.
Vice Chair for Research
Professor

Ian Marriott, Ph.D.
The initiation of immune responses
2017 College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Award for Outstanding Teaching - Integration of Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award

Woodward 386A
imarriot@uncc.edu

Read More
Adam M. Reitzel, Ph.D.
Graduate Program Coordinator
Professor

Adam M. Reitzel, Ph.D.
Evolution and ecology of coastal invertebrates using comparative genomics, molecular biology, population genetics, evolutionary ecology, and field studies.

Woodward 381A
adam.reitzel@uncc.edu

Read More
Melanie Harris, M.S.
Undergraduate Coordinator
Senior Lecturer

Melanie Harris, M.S.
Microbiology
2014 Building Educational Strengths and Talents (B.E.S.T) Outstanding Faculty Award

Woodward 241
MelanieHarris@uncc.edu

Read More
Didier Dréau, Ph.D.
Undergraduate Honors Coordinator
Professor

Didier Dréau, Ph.D.
Mechanisms of Cancer Metastasis, Vascular and Immune Interactions During Cancer Growth.
2014 Outstanding Faculty Award Multicultural Academic Services

Woodward 490B
ddreau@uncc.edu

Read More
Sharon Bullock, Ph.D.
Biotechnology Minor Program Coordinator
Senior Lecturer

Sharon Bullock, Ph.D.
Molecular and Cell Biology, Biotechnology, Pathophysiology

Woodward 235B
sbulloc8@uncc.edu

Read More
Tonya C. Bates, M.S.
Senior Lecturer

Tonya C. Bates, M.S.
Microbiology
2020 Recipient of the UNC Charlotte Teaching Excellence Award; 2015 College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Award for Outstanding Teaching Teaching by a Full-Time Lecturer Award

Woodward 214A
Tonya.Bates@uncc.edu

Read More
Tuan Cao, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Tuan Cao, Ph.D.
Ecology and evolutionary biology

Woodward 235D
ttcao@uncc.edu

Read More
Kausik Chakrabarti, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Kausik Chakrabarti, Ph.D.
Genome Replication, Dynamic structure of Telomerase, Transcriptomics, Post-transcriptional Gene Regulation in Human Parasitic and Viral Diseases.

Woodward 390A
kchakrab@uncc.edu

Read More
Richard Chi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Richard Chi, Ph.D.
Molecular and Cell Biology. Membrane trafficking, yeast genetics, protein biochemistry, molecular biology and live cell fluorescence microscopy

Woodward 490D
Richard.Chi@uncc.edu

Read More
Mark Clemens, Ph.D.
Professor

Mark Clemens, Ph.D.
Vascular and metabolic physiology

Woodward 486A
mgclemen@uncc.edu

Read More
Kristen Funk, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Kristen Funk, Ph.D.
Neuroinflammation of neuroinfectious and neurodegenerative diseases

Woodward 381B
kfunk@uncc.edu

Read More
Samantha Furr-Rogers, Ph.D. MPH
Lecturer

Samantha Furr-Rogers, Ph.D. MPH
Immunology, physiology, and public health

Woodward 235F
s.furr-rogers@uncc.edu

Read More
Valery Grdzelishvili, Ph.D.
Professor

Valery Grdzelishvili, Ph.D.
Molecular virology, anticancer therapy based on replication-competent viruses ("oncolytic virotherapy"), virus-host interactions, virus-based vectors.

Woodward 486B
vzgrdzel@uncc.edu

Read More
M. Brittany Johnson, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor

M. Brittany Johnson, Ph.D.

Woodward 375 East
mjohn398@uncc.edu

Read More
Aaron Kampe, M.S.
Lecturer

Aaron Kampe, M.S.
Field Ecology
Ecology Lab Coordinator/Student Gardening Advisor

Woodward 222B
akampe1@uncc.edu

Read More
Eugenia Lo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Eugenia Lo, Ph.D.
Malaria epidemiology; Parasite genome evolution; Dynamics of disease transmission; Population genomics; Host-parasite evolution; Molecular genetics of invasion mechanism

Woodward 381C
eugenia.lo@uncc.edu

Read More
Paola C. López-Duarte, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Paola C. López-Duarte, Ph.D.
Behavior and Ecology of Invertebrates and Fish, Larval Population Connectivity, Food Web Interactions in Coastal Communities

Woodward 486D
Lopez-Duarte@uncc.edu

Read More
Pinku is smiling while leaning against a table in her research lab. She's a brunette with straight shoulder length hair wearing a black blazer with arms crossed
Pinku Mukherjee, Ph.D.
Irwin Belk Distinguished Professor

Pinku Mukherjee, Ph.D.
Cancer Biology and Immunology
Recipient of the 2018 First Citizens Bank Scholars Award; recipient of the 2015 O. Max Gardener Award

Fretwell 430F / Woodward 490D
704.687.7210
pmukherj@uncc.edu

Read More
Dan Nelson, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor

Dan Nelson, Ph.D.

Woodward 390A
danelson@uncc.edu

Read More
Michelle B. Pass, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Michelle B. Pass, Ph.D.
Microbiology and Urban Education
Undergraduate Laboratory Director

Woodward 235G
mbpass@uncc.edu

Read More
Stanley S. Schneider, Ph.D.
Professor

Stanley S. Schneider, Ph.D.
Animal behavior; communication and foraging of the honeybee
2016 UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching; 2015 Bank of America Award for Teaching Excellence; 2014 Inaugural recipient of CLAS Integration of Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award

Woodward 288A
Stan.Schneider@uncc.edu

Read More
Shankari Somayaji, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Shankari Somayaji, Ph.D.
Anatomy and Physiology

Woodward 235C
ssomayaj@uncc.edu

Read More
Bao-Hua (Alysa) Song, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Bao-Hua (Alysa) Song, Ph.D.
Plant Evolutionary and Ecological Genetics and Genomics

Woodward 386D
bsong5@uncc.edu

Read More
Todd R. Steck, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Todd R. Steck, Ph.D.
Molecular microbiology, cystic fibrosis microbiome, antibiotic resistance

Woodward 390C
trsteck@uncc.edu

Read More
Junya Tomida, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Junya Tomida, Ph.D.
DNA repair, mechanisms of carcinogenesis and metastasis in prostate and breast cancers

Woodward 490C
jtomida@uncc.edu

Read More
Andrew Truman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Andrew Truman, Ph.D.
Understanding the role of molecular chaperones in cancer using quantitative proteomics, molecular biology, systems biology and model organisms.

Woodward 486C
atruman1@uncc.edu

Read More
Jennifer Warner, Ph.D.
Teaching Professor

Jennifer Warner, Ph.D.
microbiology
Faculty Director, LEADS Program

Woodward 282D
jmwarner@uncc.edu

Read More
Carrie Wells, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Carrie Wells, Ph.D.
Ecology and Biogeography

Woodward 235E
cwells19@uncc.edu

Read More
Ellen Wisner, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Ellen Wisner, Ph.D.
Evolutionary Biology and Behavioral Ecology, Sexual Selection in Birds

Woodward 235A
ewisner@uncc.edu

Read More
TingTing Xiang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

TingTing Xiang, Ph.D.
Molecular basis of coral-algal symbiosis; toxin biosynthesis in red tide dinoflagellate

Woodward 390B
txiang@uncc.edu

Read More
Shan Yan, Ph.D.
Professor

Shan Yan, Ph.D.
Molecular mechanisms of genome integrity

Woodward 490A
shan.yan@uncc.edu

Read More
Jian Zhang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Jian Zhang, Ph.D.
Vascular and metabolic physiology

Woodward 288B
jxzhang@uncc.edu

Read More
Ru Zhou
Research Associate Professor

Ru Zhou

Woodward 461
rzhou@uncc.edu

Read More