Directory

Pinku Mukherjee, Ph.D. Department Chair

Irwin Belk Distinguished Professor; recipient of the 2018 First Citizens Bank Scholars Award; recipient of the 2015 O. Max Gardener Award

Cancer Biology and Immunology

Pinku Mukherjee, Ph.D. Department Chair

Woodward 246
704.687.5465
pmukherj@uncc.edu

Read More about Pinku Mukherjee, Ph.D. Department Chair

Stanley S. Schneider, Ph.D. Academic Vice Chair

Professor; 2016 UNC Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching; 2015 Bank of America Award for Teaching Excellence; 2014 Inaugural recipient of CLAS Integration of Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award

Animal behavior; communication and foraging of the honeybee

Stanley S. Schneider, Ph.D. Academic Vice Chair

Woodward 288A
704.687.8527
Stan.Schneider@uncc.edu

Read More about Stanley S. Schneider, Ph.D. Academic Vice Chair

Tonya C. Bates, M.S. Undergraduate Coordinator

Senior Lecturer; 2017 Teachers Observing Peers Program; 2015 CLAS Outstanding Teaching by a Full-Time Lecturer Award

Tonya C. Bates, M.S. Undergraduate Coordinator

Woodward 214A
704-687-5015
Tonya.Bates@uncc.edu

Read More about Tonya C. Bates, M.S. Undergraduate Coordinator

Didier Dréau, Ph.D. Undergraduate Honors Coordinator

Associate Professor; 2014 Outstanding Faculty Award Multicultural Academic Services

Mechanisms of Cancer Metastasis, Vascular and Immune Interactions During Cancer Growth.

Didier Dréau, Ph.D. Undergraduate Honors Coordinator

Woodward 490B
704.687.8314
ddreau@uncc.edu

Read More about Didier Dréau, Ph.D. Undergraduate Honors Coordinator

Ian Marriott, Ph.D. Vice Chair for Research

Professor; 2017 College of Liberal Arts & Sciences’ Excellence in Teaching Awards - Integration of Undergraduate Teaching and Research Award

The initiation of immune responses

Ian Marriott, Ph.D. Vice Chair for Research

Woodward 386A
704.687.8506
imarriot@uncc.edu

Read More about Ian Marriott, Ph.D. Vice Chair for Research

Christine Richardson, Ph.D. Graduate Program Coordinator

Professor

DNA recombination and repair, chromosomal rearrangements, & hematopoietic malignancies, leukemia, ovarian cancerecotoxicology in mammals.

Christine Richardson, Ph.D. Graduate Program Coordinator

Woodward 386B
704.687.8683
C.Richardson@uncc.edu

Read More about Christine Richardson, Ph.D. Graduate Program Coordinator

Sharon Bullock, Ph.D. Biotechnology Minor Program Coordinator

Senior Lecturer

Sharon Bullock, Ph.D. Biotechnology Minor Program Coordinator

Woodward 235B
704-687-8536
sbulloc8@uncc.edu

Read More about Sharon Bullock, Ph.D. Biotechnology Minor Program Coordinator

Kenneth Bost, Ph.D.

Irwin Belk Distinguished Professor

Molecular and cellular understanding of the immune response, the interactions between the nervous and immune systems, and the mechanisms involved in initiation of mucosal immunity.

Kenneth Bost, Ph.D.

Woodward 390D
704.687.8677
klbost@uncc.edu

Read More about Kenneth Bost, Ph.D.

Nishi Bryska, M.S.

Senior Lecturer; 2017 College of Liberal Arts & Sciences’ Excellence in Teaching Awards - Outstanding Teaching by a Full-Time Lecturer Award

Nishi Bryska, M.S.

Woodward 235C
704-687-8679
nsbryska@uncc.edu

Read More about Nishi Bryska, M.S.

Tuan Cao, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Tuan Cao, Ph.D.

Woodward 235D
704-687-8531
ttcao@uncc.edu

Read More about Tuan Cao, Ph.D.

Kausik Chakrabarti, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Genome Replication, Dynamic structure of Telomerase, Transcriptomics, Post-transcriptional Gene Regulation in Human Parasitic and Viral Diseases.

Kausik Chakrabarti, Ph.D

Woodward 390A
704.687.1882
kchakrab@uncc.edu

Read More about Kausik Chakrabarti, Ph.D

Richard Chi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Molecular and Cell Biology. Membrane trafficking, yeast genetics, protein biochemistry, molecular biology and live cell fluorescence microscopy

Richard Chi, Ph.D.

Woodward 490D
704.687.8697
rchi1@uncc.edu

Read More about Richard Chi, Ph.D.

Mark Clemens, Ph.D.

Professor

Vascular and metabolic physiology

Mark Clemens, Ph.D.

Woodward 486A
704.687.8682
mgclemen@uncc.edu

Read More about Mark Clemens, Ph.D.

Samantha Furr-Rogers, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Samantha Furr-Rogers, Ph.D.

Woodward 235F
704-687-6062
s.furr-rogers@uncc.edu

Read More about Samantha Furr-Rogers, Ph.D.

Valery Grdzelishvili, Ph.D.

Professor

Molecular virology, anticancer therapy based on replication-competent viruses ("oncolytic virotherapy"), virus-host interactions, virus-based vectors.

Valery Grdzelishvili, Ph.D.

Woodward 486B
704.687.7778
vzgrdzel@uncc.edu

Read More about Valery Grdzelishvili, Ph.D.

Melanie Harris, M.S.

Senior Lecturer; 2014 Building Educational Strengths and Talents (B.E.S.T) Outstanding Faculty Award

Melanie Harris, M.S.

Woodward 241
704-687-8505
MelanieHarris@uncc.edu

Read More about Melanie Harris, M.S.

Anna Ivanina

Research Assistant Professor

Anna Ivanina

Woodward 357
704-687-8523
alvanina@uncc.edu

Read More about Anna Ivanina

M. Brittany Johnson

Research Assistant Professor

M. Brittany Johnson

Woodward 375 East
704.687.8507
mjohn398@uncc.edu

Read More about M. Brittany Johnson

Aaron Kampe, M.S.

Lecturer

Aaron Kampe, M.S.

Woodward 222B
704-687-1968
akampe1@uncc.edu

Read More about Aaron Kampe, M.S.

Larry Leamy, Ph.D.

Professor

Quantitative genetics

Larry Leamy, Ph.D.

Woodward 282C
704.687.8503
ljleamy@uncc.edu

Read More about Larry Leamy, Ph.D.

Eugenia Lo, Ph.D

Assistant Professor

Malaria epidemiology; Parasite genome evolution; Dynamics of disease transmission; Population genomics; Host-parasite evolution; Molecular genetics of invasion mechanism

Eugenia Lo, Ph.D

Woodward 381C
704-687-8532
eugenia.lo@uncc.edu

Read More about Eugenia Lo, Ph.D

Paola C. López-Duarte, PhD.

Assistant Professor

Paola C. López-Duarte, PhD.

704.687.5083 -- Woodward 490C
Lopez-Duarte@uncc.edu

Read More about Paola C. López-Duarte, PhD.

Dan Nelson, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor

Dan Nelson, Ph.D.

Woodward 390A
704-687-8514
danelson@uncc.edu

Read More about Dan Nelson, Ph.D.

James D. Oliver, Ph.D.

Bonnie E. Cone Distinguished Professor

Ecology, physiology, and metabolism of aquatic bacteria; biology of the human pathogen, Vibrio vulnificus.

James D. Oliver, Ph.D.

Woodward 381D
704.687.8516
jdoliver@uncc.edu

Read More about James D. Oliver, Ph.D.

Matthew W. Parrow, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

ALGAL ECOLOGY AND PHYSIOLOGY; HARMFUL ALGAL BLOOMS; PHYLOGENETICS OF EUKARYOTIC MICROBES; APPLICATIONS OF ALGAE AND FUNGI IN BIOTECHNOLOGY

Matthew W. Parrow, Ph.D.

Woodward 386C
704.687.7779
mwparrow@uncc.edu

Read More about Matthew W. Parrow, Ph.D.

Michelle B. Pass, M.S.

Lecturer and Undergraduate Laboratory Director

Michelle B. Pass, M.S.

Woodward 235G
704-687-8519
mbpass@uncc.edu

Read More about Michelle B. Pass, M.S.

Molly Redmond, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Microbial ecology and biogeochemistry

Molly Redmond, Ph.D.

Woodward 390B
704.687.5554
mcredmond@uncc.edu

Read More about Molly Redmond, Ph.D.

Adam M. Reitzel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Evolution and ecology of coastal invertebrates using comparative genomics, molecular biology, population genetics, evolutionary ecology, and field studies.

Adam M. Reitzel, Ph.D.

Woodward 381A
704.687.5018
adam.reitzel@uncc.edu

Read More about Adam M. Reitzel, Ph.D.

Amy H. Ringwood, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Amy H. Ringwood, Ph.D.

Woodward 381B
704-687-8501
ahringwo@uncc.edu

Read More about Amy H. Ringwood, Ph.D.

Shankari Somayaji, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Song, Bao-Hua (Alysa), Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Plant Evolutionary and Ecological Genetics and Genomics

Song, Bao-Hua (Alysa), Ph.D.

Woodward 386D
704.687.8670
bsong5@uncc.edu

Read More about Song, Bao-Hua (Alysa), Ph.D.

Todd R. Steck, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Molecular microbiology, cystic fibrosis microbiome, antibiotic resistance

Todd R. Steck, Ph.D.

Woodward 390C
704.687.8534
trsteck@uncc.edu

Read More about Todd R. Steck, Ph.D.

Junya Tomida, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

DNA repair, mechanisms of carcinogenesis and metastasis in prostate and breast cancers

Junya Tomida, Ph.D.

Woodward 490C
704.687.5095
jtomida@uncc.edu

Read More about Junya Tomida, Ph.D.

Andrew Truman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Understanding the role of molecular chaperones in cancer using quantitative proteomics, molecular biology, systems biology and model organisms.

Andrew Truman, Ph.D.

Woodward 486C
704.687.5228
atruman1@uncc.edu

Read More about Andrew Truman, Ph.D.

Jennifer Warner, Ph.D.

Teaching Professor

Jennifer Warner, Ph.D.

Woodward 282D
704-687-8535
jmwarner@uncc.edu

Read More about Jennifer Warner, Ph.D.

Carrie Wells, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Carrie Wells, Ph.D.

Woodward 235E
704-687-8513
cwells19@uncc.edu

Read More about Carrie Wells, Ph.D.

Ellen Wisner, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Ellen Wisner, Ph.D.

Woodward 235A
704-687-1928
ewisner@uncc.edu

Read More about Ellen Wisner, Ph.D.

Shan Yan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Molecular mechanisms of genome integrity

Shan Yan, Ph.D.

Woodward 490A
704.687.8528
shan.yan@uncc.edu

Read More about Shan Yan, Ph.D.

Jian Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Vascular and metabolic physiology

Jian Zhang, Ph.D.

Woodward 288B
704.687.8518
jxzhang@uncc.edu

Read More about Jian Zhang, Ph.D.

Ru Zhou

Research Assistant Professor

Ru Zhou

Woodward 461
704.687.5460
rzhou@uncc.edu

Read More about Ru Zhou